Lent and Overnight Oats

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Hi Lovelies!

I hope everyone enjoyed pancake day yesterday! It was the perfect excuse for me to indulge in Nutella and not feel too bad about it. Today is the first day of lent and I thought I would write a post about my plans for this year. The biggest difficulty for me with lent is that my birthday falls in the middle of it. This means that I am always very reluctant to give anything up as I don’t want to have to miss out on birthday cake/chocolate etc! This year I have found a way around this so lets talk lent!

One thing that I am definitely giving up is sweets. I absolutely love sweets, especially pick and mix so naturally that seems like a good thing to try and go without for 40 days.

My main challenge however, is something I spoke about this a little bit in Chia Seeds, avocado and clean eating. I really want to try a vegan diet. The only thing getting in my way is the numerous meals out/events etc that would make this lifestyle hard to maintain. So, I have decided to try eating vegan 80% of the time. This means that I can still go out with friends and I can enjoy my favourite dishes and treats (minus sweets 😦 ) on my birthday. I also have a little trip to Paris coming up and I want to be able to indulge in a chocolate croissant or two! This seems like the perfect compromise. After all, moderation seems a lot more sensible than complete restriction!

To record my Vegan eating through Lent I have decided to write a weekly post summing up my progress that week. I have yet to come up with a specific name and day for this blog series but it will be coming very soon! Like I also said in Chia seeds, avocado and clean eating, I can’t wait to try out some raw food and vegan cafes 🙂

To start off the new blog series, here is a great breakfast recipe that I tried the other day: banana, peanut butter, and pecan overnight oats. The majority of this dish is made the night before so it is perfect if you don’t have much time in the morning. It also looks a little bit like an ice-cream sundae! I don’t know about you but anything that looks decadent and indulgent yet is bursting with goodness seems like an ultimate winner.  I can also confirm that whilst being incredibly healthy, it is SO delicious and will fill you up for the entire morning.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

First, you will need to combine:

  • 22g rolled oats
  • 1 tbsp Chia seeds
  • 1 tsp Cinnamon
  • 180 ml Almond Milk

Mix these all together and leave overnight in a sealed container.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The next morning, combine:

  • 1 tbsp Peanut butter
  • Half banana, chopped

in a bowl and microwave until they are both soft.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Warm up the over night oats in the microwave and then combine them with the peanut butter and banana. You are then ready to fill up your bowl/jar/glass! I like to use a wine glass just because it looks pretty. I squeezed a bit of honey in the bottom and then I added a bit of low fat natural yoghurt. I then placed half the mixture into the glass before layering another 2 tbsp of natural yoghurt. Finally add the second half of the oats. To top it off, I placed the remaining banana and some pecans on top, drizzling a little honey as well to give a sweet taste.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

All that is left to do now it tuck in and enjoy!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This really is such a delicious breakfast and I cannot recommend it enough! Have you ever made overnight oats?

What are you giving up for lent?

Lots of love,

signature

14 thoughts on “Lent and Overnight Oats

    1. You’ll love the overnight oats 🙂 Haha, it is scary how long 40 days will be! I am also worried about not eating sweets as I love them so much!! I bought some strawberry pencils and randoms last night so that I could have one last evening enjoying them 🙂 Good luck! xxx

  1. Being vegan can be tricky, especially for meals out, but trust me it’s so worth it! I’ve been vegan for nearly a year now and the benefits are great! I hope you manage to keep it up! If you want any tips, advice or any general questions about being vegan feel free to ask!

    Emma x
    emmakatherinesmith.blogspot.co.uk

    1. Wow that’s such an achievement! Well done 🙂 yes I’ll be sure to ask if I wanna know anything! It all feels very new at the moment but it’s something I’ve wanted to try out for a while so we will see how it goes! 🙂 ️xxx

  2. This looks ever so delicious, I’m definitely going to have to try this! I’ve been umming and ahhing about becoming vegan for a while. I was a vegetarian for a good year and I loved that but haven’t had the courage to push into fully vegan yet! Lovely post. – Tasha

    1. Thank you! That’s similar to
      What I was like. Why don’t you try something like this and do an 80:20 vegan diet to get you going? It’s great as it’s not as strict but let’s me experiment with vegan cooking and food alternatives which is what I wanted to do! 🙂 xxx

Leave a comment