Cookie Swap 2014

Hi Everyone!

So I intended to publish this post last monday when I was away skiing but unfortunately there was no working wifi in my room so I haven’t been able to publish anything for the past week! I am back now though and can’t wait to update you on what’s been going on 🙂 I am so excited for the upcoming week of Christmas festivities and I had the most incredible week skiing last week!

This year I took part in The Great Food Blogger Cookie Swap. I love cooking and baking and so any opportunity to do this is something I would always take up on! Basically, everyone that signed up was assigned some bloggers to send cookies to and then we receive a batch from another couple of bloggers! What a lovely idea, especially around Christmas 🙂 I went for one of my favourite recipes: raspberry and chocolate. I use this combination a lot in brownies/cupcakes etc but I have never used them in cookies so it was interesting to try out something new. I based my recipe on the Raspberry and White Chocolate Chuck Cookies method by Carnation that you can find here. However, I decided to make them even more sinful and indulgent and I used both white and milk chocolate. Here is how I got on!

IMG_2521

1. After pre heating the oven to 180 degrees C, mix together 225g unsalted butter and 225g Caster sugar.

IMG_2524

IMG_2530

2. I then added 170g condensed milk

IMG_2535

3. Now add 350g self raising flour and then mix together all the ingredients in the bowl.

IMG_2539

4. The recipe says to use nestle chocolate but I decided to use Green and Blacks. I continued to break it up into small squares and add it to the mixture, stirring it all together.

IMG_2544

IMG_2542

IMG_2547

5. Now it is time to create the cookies! Basically, using 175g raspberries, collect a ball of the mixture and flatten  it out. Place a couple of raspberries in the middle, form the mixture back into a ball with the raspberries inside. Then slightly flatten it out again, taking care not to let the raspberries break too much and spill out of the side! I warn you, this step does get quite messy!

IMG_2548

IMG_2552

IMG_2553

6. Lay out the cookies on a baking tray and then place them in the oven for about 15-18 minutes. Voila! I under estimated how much the cookies would grow so when I took them out of the oven they had all stuck together! Anyhow, I just used a fish slice to separate them once they had cooled.

IMG_2561

IMG_2568

IMG_2569

I tasted a few myself and I have to say, they were delicious!! The combination of the gooey raspberry and chocolate with the chewy cookie dough was just bliss. I received cookies from Victoria (Victoria Sponge Pease Pudding) and Roshni (The Vanilla Bean). Find their blogs by clicking on the links on their name 🙂 I was so excited to receive my cookies in the post!!

Firstly, I received this package from Victoria complete with a lovely Christmas Card! These cookies were absolutely delicious! The Salted Caramel Popcorn and Dark Chocolate flavour was so indulgent and delicious, I definitely would love to try something like this out for myself. I have always been a fan of salted caramel and it just worked so so well! Thankyou 😀

IMG_2849 IMG_2854 IMG_2855

Secondly, I received this lovely package from Roshni I love the rustic homemade card! These cookies were earl grey flavour and you really could taste it! Finished off with a dipping of chocolate, they were absolutely delicious. I previously tried to make early grey cupcakes (read here) but the taste was no way near as strong so I am tempted to try them again!

IMG_2857 IMG_2858

I am so glad that I took part in this challenge. I was so much fun and I loved trying out different types of cookies! Thanks girls 🙂 Lots of love,

signature

4 thoughts on “Cookie Swap 2014

  1. Thanks for the follow on Twitter, dear! I like finding fellow bloggers.

    I like your blog. How was the ski holiday? I hope you’re full of energy and creative ideas now that you’re back.
    This cookie swap sounds like such a great idea and the photos are so nice. I don’t think I could attend in such a swap though – I’m not the best when it comes to baking. I’m just learning on making bread at the moment.

    Shall we follow each other on Bloglovin? Let me know, please – I’ll be happy to! 🙂

    Lu | http://www.balgarka.co.uk

    1. My pleasure! I love finding new people 🙂

      Skiing was incredible thanks! I’ll be putting up a few pics soon 🙂 Yes definitely, it was a nice break but I’m so glad to be back to blogging!
      Ooh making bread sounds very fun! I’d love to try that, I normally stick to cakes and biscuits.

      Yes definitely! I’d love to follow you 🙂

      Love Sass xxx

Leave a comment