Christmas Baileys Cupcakes

Hi Guys!

As soon as I come home for Christmas I just can’t seem to get myself out of the kitchen! There are so many amazing things to make and there is so much creative potential. I absolutely love trying out new things and this year I wanted to try and make some Baileys Cupcakes. I love Baileys so much and the result was delicious! I used a basic chocolate cupcake recipe from Baking mad and then added 1 tsp of Baileys to the cake mixture. Furthermore, to make the cakes more interesting, I split the mixture into blonde and chocolate then swirled it together… read on to see the marbled effect!

IMG_3446

Baileys… the best liquer ever… yum!!

The ingredients list is very simple:

  • 4tbsp boiling water
  • 40g Cocoa powder
  • 3 eggs
  • 175g butter
  • 165g unrefined caster sugar
  • 115g self-raising flour
  • 1tsp Baking Powder
  • 1 tsp Baileys (My addition to the recipe)

IMG_3444

IMG_3445

IMG_3448

After mixing all the ingredients together (making sure to split the mixture in half before adding the Baileys and cocoa), I layered up the plain mixture followed by the chocolate one and then finally followed by another plain layer – this is what makes the cake lovely and swirled!

IMG_3449

IMG_3457

Cook the cupcakes for about 10-15 minutes

IMG_3462

The icing mixture is very simple too:

  • 750g icing sugar
  • 250g softened butter
  • 25g cocoa powder
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 tsp Baileys (I used a very small amount and I personally think this is by far enough!)

IMG_3461

IMG_3466

Once the icing sugar is all mixed together, add to the cakes and voila!!

IMG_3475

IMG_3488

IMG_3491

IMG_3524

IMG_3534

IMG_3497

I loved these cupcakes! Let me know if you try them out 🙂

This is only the first of a few Christmas cooking posts so watch this space! I hope everyone is having a lovely Christmas Eve Eve!

Lots of love,

signature

5 thoughts on “Christmas Baileys Cupcakes

Leave a comment