May Nails

Now that May has quickly crept upon us, I decided it was time to write a post about the colours that I intend to wear on my nails this month. I absolutely loved pastel shades in April. Everything from pinks and nudes to blues to purples… I just couldn’t get enough! Although I don’t want to move away from this trend completely, I think it is time to introduce a little bit more colour. It is time to start experimenting with a brighter palette now that the days are getting longer and the sun is shining… and even when it isn’t, there is no harm in getting in the mood for the summer months that are fast approaching! There is nothing like a warm and colourful collection of shades to help me through the next few weeks of revision.

Here is a small collection of some of my favourite shades for May!

Image

ImageImageImage

Maxfactor Glossfinity – 70 cute coral (£5.99 from Boots)

Image

I love anything coral. Be it make up, clothing, nail varnish.. I see this colour and I have to have it! I think it is an absolute must have in the build up to summer. There is just so much warmth and juiciness in this shade, it really reminds me of the sand, the beach, girly cocktails and the lovely heat of a Mediterranean sun. It gets me in such a holiday mood!

Image

American Apparel Nail lacquer in Cameo Blue (£9 from American Apparel – warning: this is low in stock)

Image

This colour is so rich and beautiful. Whilst blue is often seen as quite a cool colour, there is a warm undertone in this particular shade making is perfect for May. A darker blue is always quite a statement colour to wear and so it adds a striking edge to any summer outfit. I think this will look gorgeous with a white handbag this season, hinting at a nautical theme and embracing the deep blue skies of May. I absolutely love varnishes from American Apparel. They apply so easily and the result is so glossy and professional.

Image

Revlon Parfumerie in African tea Rose (£6.49 from Boots)

Image

I absolutely love pink and this shade is so girly and summery; just looking at it makes me feel happy! This is part of the new Revlon range of scented varnishes and I absolutely love it. I can’t wait to try out more colours and scents in this range! Once dried, there is a subtle and delicate essence of rose and I just can’t stop smelling my nails!

Image

Topshop Matte Nails in Candy Fox

Image

I couldn’t leave the pastel shades completely! This gorgeous matte pink colour will always have a place in my nail varnish collection whatever the time of year. It is just so cute and versatile, complementing a huge range of outfits. From florals, whites, denim and a lot of other summer must haves, this nail varnish, especially due to its matte finish, will complete the look in a sophisticated yet girly way.

Image

I hope you love these colours as much as I do!

Image

Image

What are your favourite colours this month?

Sass x

7 thoughts on “May Nails

  1. Congratulations! I l like the new “face” of your blog. It looks so different from what you had before! I also like your pictures here; they make me think of summer and vacation. 🙂

  2. I also love Topshop’s Matte Nails collection – I recently bought two colours to try and they are gorgeous! And the Revlon Parfumerie is so good – love the scents 😉

  3. I love love love that topshop nail varnish! Topshop nail varnish is so good and so underrated! Lovely blog post btw! Hope your revision is going well! 😀

Leave a comment