How to make the best Hot chocolate

One of my favourite things in the entire world is hot chocolate. I’m not even joking when I say that ‘medium skinny hazelnut hot chocolate please’ is probably one of my most frequent phrases! If I am ordering that from Costa… even better! I am always on the look out for a great hot choc and I have had my fair share of delicious creations. The one from Somerset house that I bought whilst ice skating in London is probably in my top 3… that was to die for…

However, I am often quite disappointed by ones that you make at home. On an everyday basis I usually drink Options hot chocolate because I think it is the tastiest low calorie brand. It isn’t a patch on one bought in a cafe but I guess this is expected seeing as I mainly use hot water and I don’t have all the fancy equipment or selections of syrups and whipped cream.  Yet even when I have splurged on a more expensive brand and I go to town with milk, marshmallows and all the extra trimmings, I am often left unimpressed.

You can imagine my excitement then when I discovered potentially one of the best hot chocolates I have EVER tasted in the comfort of my own home?! Now this might seem like a bold statement to make but I feel that I have tried and tested my fair share of the warm, winter drink to know when I have stumbled upon a gem. The product that I am talking about is a bar of ‘Hasslacher’s Hot Drinking Chocolate‘. I bought it from Marks and Spencers but it is available from quite a few stores!

IMG_3791

It is very simple to create an amazing mug of this hot chocolate.

1. Break off two squares of the bar and melt in a saucepan.

IMG_3796

2. Fill a mug just below the rim with the milk of your choice then add it to the melted chocolate. Stir until bubbling. Also use this time to add some sugar to sweeten it. I like to use 2-3 of teaspoons as I like it quite sweet but you can use sweetener for a healthier option.

IMG_3802

3. Now it is time to share with you one of my favourite Christmas presents! My sister knows me far too well and bought me this incredible Milk Frother by Andrew James, complete with chocolate sprinkler.

IMG_3900

IMG_3926

IMG_3931

This is the perfect addition to my hot chocolate making process. Once the milk has boiled I use this product to froth up the milk!

IMG_3933

IMG_3935

4. Once appropriately ‘frothed’, add to your favourite mug.

IMG_3938

5.Now you are free to adorn with marshmallows…

IMG_3808

IMG_3943

Chocolate sprinkles, cream… however you want!

IMG_3950

IMG_3961

I find this hot chocolate so thick, dreamy and chocolatey. It is quite rich and decadent and I dread to think how bad it is for me! (There is no nutritional information on the packet and it is probably for the best that I don’t know.. ignorance is bliss!) It makes the perfect late night treat but I really am going to have to try and ration my use of it… healthy new year and all that! I just need to treat myself to a bottle of hazelnut syrup and this really will be heaven on earth.

IMG_3973

Where do you go for your favourite hot chocolate?

What are some of your favourite brands?

Lots of love,

signature

9 thoughts on “How to make the best Hot chocolate

  1. Omg, I love hot chocolate too! My favorite is similar but I can’t remember the brand, its just a square of chocolate on a stick and you just stir it un your mug of hot milk. Its bliss xx

    1. Ooh this sounds amazing! I think I might have seen things like that in shops before but I’ve never tried it… I will definitely have to pick some up next time I see it! Thanks for stopping by 🙂
      Sass xx

  2. Mmm this looks delicious! I’ve had the melty-blocks-on-sticks too…. for a powdered version I find the whittards ones not bad at all, and I’m pretty sure they do a hazelnut flavour! 🙂

    1. Yes i’ve heard some good things about the blocks on sticks, I’ll need to give these a go 🙂 Oh wow, I definitely need to see if they do have a hazelnut version! thanks 🙂 x

Leave a comment