Christmas Traditions

Hi Guys!

I hope everyone had the most wonderful Christmas Day yesterday! I had such a lovely time with my family 🙂 I thought I would do a post on some our Christmas traditions and show you a few snaps from the big day itself!

The first tradition that occurs in my family is our annual trip to the farm to cut down our Christmas Tree. Equipped with warm clothes, wellies and a saw we hunt round the forest, finding the perfect tree; a big one for the sitting room and a smaller one for the lounge. This is often followed by lunch out together at Beetham Nurseries.

IMG_3386

IMG_3399

IMG_3416

IMG_3409

IMG_3420

IMG_3429

If you have read any other of my posts this week then you will know how much I love to bake during the Christmas period! Check out my Baileys Cupcake Recipe and how I went about making a Gingerbread house on the links.

IMG_3488

IMG_3609

I always make a batch of mince pies but seeing as my family aren’t a massive fan of them, this year I did something a little different. I made half of them the usual way and then for the other half, I used pesto and mozzarella instead to create a yummy savoury snack! One of my best tips for mince pies is to use puff pastry. Often they are used making short crust pastry but I think the puff pastry is just so much more delicious!

IMG_3689

IMG_3694

I had seen Strawberry Christmas trees on Pinterest so I thought I would try and create my own. I made a basic cone shape using just an A4 piece of card. I then struck it to a plate using icing sugar. Once it was secure, I melted a bar of Green and Blacks Milk chocolate and used this to stick strawberries to the base of the tree. Seeing as I only had a small handful of strawberries, I used raspberries for the upper half of the tree. This worked out quite well in the end as it meant to the tree got narrower.

IMG_3753

IMG_3758

IMG_3759

I drizzled the remaining chocolate over the finished tree and then around the plate in a nice, decorative (though slightly messy) way 🙂

IMG_3768

IMG_3770

IMG_3819

IMG_3880

Decorations! I love making the house lovely and sparkly in preparation for Christmas. It is always so exciting getting out the baubles, tinsel and fairy lights for the tree.

IMG_3642

IMG_3643

IMG_3646

IMG_2563_2

IMG_3837

IMG_3844

IMG_3675

IMG_3684

IMG_3747

I often spend my Christmas Eve doing some last minute wrapping! I was very lucky to be sent this gorgeous candle from Kiss Air Candles. The flavour is ‘almond macaroon’ and it smells absolutely divine. It is very similar to marzipan and for me this is the perfect Christmas accompaniment. It reminds me of my Mum’s Christmas cake so much as she always uses a lovely thick layer of marzipan. I had this lit for most of Christmas Eve and Day! So delicious. I was also sent a ‘strawberry daiquiri’ scented candle which is equally lovely! I can’t wait to use this when I am craving a more summery smell.

IMG_3718

IMG_3720

IMG_3717

When all the Christmas preparations are complete, the only thing left is to make sure there is a mince pie for Santa and a carrot for Rudolph! Looks like this year, Santa was treated to a G&T too! Stockings hung up and full of anticipation, we spent the evening watching films… I still get so excited at the age of twenty!

IMG_2463

Christmas morning! After seeing what Santa left in our stockings we sit down to a lovely family breakfast. This year I made us all french toast and blueberries… delicious!

IMG_3785

The picnic of turkey, brie and cranberry sandwiches is prepared and then we set off on our annual walk to Arnside Knot.

IMG_2481

The view this year was absolutely stunning. It had just been raining but the appearance of the sun not only created this beautiful rainbow but it meant that the colours were just incredible. The array of blues and purples over the high tide was spectacular!

IMG_2484_2

IMG_2494_2

IMG_2498_2

IMG_2501_2

IMG_2513_2

Once the picnic has been eaten, we head back home for a slice of Mum’s home made Christmas cake… yummy! How cute are the little decorations on top too!

IMG_3812

IMG_3823

IMG_3826

Perhaps a little later than most, we then go and open our presents from under the tree. This year I received some lovely presents from my family and I am so so grateful for them!

IMG_2563_2

Now all that is left is Christmas Dinner! My Dad always manages to create an amazing array of food and this year was no exception! Little brie bites and a glass of prosecco to start…

IMG_3856

IMG_3865

… and then a lovely plate full of duck, vegetables, potatoes and bread sauce! Perfect 😀 I don’t actually like Christmas pudding so instead we had a chocolate pudding from M&S and my strawberry/raspberry chocolate tree 🙂

IMG_3873

IMG_3879

IMG_3877

I had the most incredible day with my family, I hope you did too!! What are your Christmas traditions? How do you like to spend your day? Post your links below 🙂

IMG_2579

(I hope you noticed my adorable festive earrings from Accessorise in the pic above! I love them :D)

Anyway, that’s Christmas over for another year! Now it is time to get excited for New Year!

Lots of love,

signature

7 thoughts on “Christmas Traditions

Leave a comment