Home for the weekend

Hi everyone!

So I have decided it is time to return to my blog! I am very excited and can’t wait to share my new photos and ideas with you guys.
I thought i’d begin by showing you some pics from my recent trip home. I was craving some family time and a weekend full of autumnal delights and indulgence was exactly what I needed. So here is what I got up to!

Me and mum went for brunch for a lovely catch up and once I noticed eggs benedict was on the menu, I had eyes for nothing else. This is one of my favourite savoury treats and it did not disappoint!

IMG_8086

After a spot of afternoon shopping we started to reminisce our summer holiday in Florence, Italy and realised that we were craving ice cream. Even though it was a really cold day, we decided to get one in Arnside.

IMG_8092

That evening I prepared a lovely dinner of pan fried trout, seasoned with rosemary, served with potatoes and vegetables. It was delicious! I absolutely love fish so I get very excited when I have the opportunity to cook with it.

IMG_8104

The next day, we decided to go on an autumnal walk. The trees were just beginning to change so there was a beautiful array of colours. From the fresh and summery shades of green to the burnt oranges and soft yellows of autumn, it was the perfect mid season sight.

IMG_8124

IMG_8129IMG_8134IMG_8117

Following this was a trip to a gorgeous garden centre near where I live, Beetham Nurseries. That day happened to be the apple festival so there was a lot of apple tasting going on, delicious 🙂

IMG_8139

IMG_8146

IMG_8145

It was time for lunch and Mum knew the perfect place, The Old Beetham Tea Rooms. It was the cutest little cafe, I was completely enchanted by its rustic charm. Although I probably should have had something savoury, the cake stand was too good to ignore so I had a slice of apple, walnut and cinnamon cake. It was gently heated making it the perfect choice, it really put me in an autumnal mood. I even got a strawberry and some cream to go with it, I felt truly spoiled! I also ordered a caramel hot chocolate (which was divine), I absolutely love this time of year, mainly because I feel like I have the excuse to drink lots of hot chocolate, something that I am completely obsessed with! Warming and cosy = bliss. I really enjoyed my afternoon treat at The Old Beetham Tea Rooms, the atmosphere was so homely, and they really pay attention to detail, the presentation of the food and interior decoration were faultless. I will definitely be visiting again when I got home for the Christmas holidays.

IMG_8176IMG_8164IMG_8168IMG_8202IMG_8170

That evening, Dad made a lovely, homely dinner of roast beef and we settled down to an evening of TV and Thorntons chocolate. Heaven. I got super excited too when I found the Booths Christmas book. Some may say it’s too soon to be thinking about it but I absolutely love the build up to Christmas and for me, the earlier the better!

IMG_8109IMG_8182IMG_8200

The next morning I woke very early to catch my train back to Leeds, armed with a gorgeous little packet of Marks and Spencer macaroons; one of the best treats! I had such a lovely weekend and felt refreshed for another week back at uni.

IMG_8208IMG_8248

Everyone needs a few days rejuvenation now and again, don’t forget to take your rest days!!

Lots of love,

Sass x

Leave a comment