Filmore and Union, Leeds

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

If you’re a regular around here you may have read one of my previous posts all about eating clean. I love experimenting with healthy foods and trying out nutritious alternatives. Recently I have been on a major chia seed hype! Filmore and Union is all about providing ‘fresh, unprocessed food which is also delicious’. There is a wide selection of gluten free and vegan food with an emphasis on natural eating and feeling healthy. I love their ethos and when I found out there was a restaurant in the beautiful Victoria Quarter in Leeds I went along to try out their menu. Not only is the food incredible but the decor and design is so aesthetically pleasing and photogenic. I found my self unable to stop clicking away on my camera, it is a blogger’s dream!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

There is a wide selection of healthy smoothies and juices on the menu. They are bursting with health and nutrition and each one sounded delicious. It also gave me some ideas for things I can try out myself with my Active Blend.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I tried out their version of a ‘healthy chocolate milkshake’ which uses raw cacao to provide the chocolatey flavour. It was delicious and very guilt free! I am also totally in love with the jar style jug that it came in, I desperately want to get some for my kitchen.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

To eat, I went for the smashed avocado and feta on rye bread with honey roasted pear, goji berries, toasted pumpkin seeds and a superfood salad. I also asked for it to be topped with chia seeds. It was delicious! I am already obsessed with avocado so this dish was the perfect combination. I loved that there was broccoli in the salad. It isn’t something I would have expected but it went down very well.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

My mum went for the Omega rich smoked haddock fishcakes. I can confirm that they were very tasty. They were served with a dukkah mint yoghurt and this made a great healthy alternative to a dish that could normally be quite unhealthy.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I LOVE cake so I found it extremely hard to decide which one to go for! Just look at that selection…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Vegan brownies!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I tried this banana loaf before when I visited the Harrogate branch. Read about it here.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

After much deliberation, I went for the orange and lavender cake. The name alone sounds so good. Whilst being sugar free, the cake was still sweet and tasty, I was very impressed.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I really enjoyed my experience at Filmore and Union. I think it can often be quite hard to eat healthy whilst eating out but here this is possible. I have a few friends who are gluten intolerant and have been disappointed by the selection of cakes/dishes available for them at other restaurants. Filmore and Union have tried to create a place that caters for such dietary requirements and it is a great idea. Lots of people are jumping on the band wagon with healthy and natural eating, a vegetarian/vegan diet and gluten free options. There is even a gluten free afternoon tea and their evening menu is 100% gluten free! I will definitely be returning. (There is still so much more on the menu I want to try!)

Thank you to the lovely staff here who made my visit even more enjoyable.

Have you ever been to Filmore and Union?

Lots of love,

Sass x

  • Location: Leeds Victoria Quarter
  • Menu type: Breakfast/lunch/afternoon tea/evening meal/take away/snacks/juices
  • Price: £££££ – at £8-11 for a lunch course, I found the menu to be a little pricey. It is more than I would normally spend on lunch, especially being on a student budget. I hate that eating healthily is often an expensive option.

12 thoughts on “Filmore and Union, Leeds

  1. This looks like my kind of place to eat. Have you experimented with any weird and wonderful chia seed recipes? I was on a chia hype this time last year – I’ve calmed down a little but I still incorporate them into my diet at least every second day in either smoothies, porridge, or chia seed pudding (my favourite!!)

    1. I think everyone gets v excited when they first discover them because they are so different but can be used in so many different ways! Yeah i’ve only really done similar things to you, they work well in overnight oat recipes too! Yes, chia seeds pudding is the best!! I love it 😀 xxx

  2. Ah wow gluten free afternoon tea?! I think we should go give it a try together?! 🙂 The food looks awesome, never knew this place existed!

    1. I know right!! I was thinking of you when writing this post 🙂 We should definitely give it a try! The food was so yum and it’s in such a gorgeous place too! x

  3. I love Filmore & Union, it sounds terribly superficial but its the setting and their décor of each café they have. We are lucky enough to have one in Wetherby! It’s a great place for a healthy alternative. That smoothie looks to die for too!
    Bee xxx
    QueenBeady.com

Leave a comment