Getting back on track after Easter

I don’t know about you but I have definitely over indulged in the last couple of days – so much chocolate!

Image

Malteasers are my favourite chocolates so when I was given a Malteaser easter egg I was in heaven!Image

 

Such a yummy Easter family dinner! Not too unhealthy.. just a very large portion!Image

 

Raspberries for pudding to counteract all of the chocolate eaten throughout the day!Image

 

In fact, I’ve not been sticking to a healthy regime for the last few weeks, what with being home from Uni, going to Spain and not being able to go to the gym as much.
I am really excited to get back into a healthy routine and begin my count down to summer with a body I feel confident about.
So, how am I going to go about it?

  1. The first thing i’ve decided to do is ditch the scales. I spend so much time obsessing over these numbers and figures which aren’t actually a very good representation of a persons health or change in body over time. Muscle weighs a lot more than fat. Instead, I am going to focus more on how I feel about myself and how my clothes fit. I am a big fan of before and after pictures – they say a lot more than numbers on a screen ever can.
  2. I have written a weekly meal plan which includes 3 healthy meals and 3 healthy snacks per day. I find that if I plan, I am more likely to stick to it. This should not only help me keep on track but I also hope that I will save money in the process. I have written up a weekly shopping list and in theory I shouldn’t need to buy anything extra.
  3. In terms of the food on my plan, I have filled it with lean proteins (like chicken breast) whole grain carbs and lots and lots of veggies! I am going to work on an 80% 20% basis. Meaning I am allowed treats every now and again, just in moderation.
  4. This term I really want to focus on toning up and building muscle because the more muscle, the more calories burnt at a given time… who could complain?! I started doing a bit of weight lifting before the holidays but I am going to make a bigger part of my weekly workout this term, I can’t wait to see the results! I will also carry on running because i improved so much in the last 6 months, it would be a shame to not keep it up. I haven’t yet written a weekly exercise plan but watch this space!
  5. One of the most important things in a healthy diet is H2O! Water, water and more water! Also, I want to reduce my overall weekly alcohol intake. Not only because this will help my body become fitter but because I don’t want to ruin my liver!

Because this is me, I couldn’t invent a new healthy regime without doing something a little bit creative. So, as an incentive to stick to my plan I decided to make a money jar. Every day that I have made healthy decisions, stuck to my plan and done some form of exercise, I add £1 to the jar.. or more if I want! After 6 weeks I should have made a bit of money and I am then allowed to spend it on a new item of clothing (or more depending how much I save) for my new, summer body!
Perfect! Here is how I did it 🙂 I decided to make two just because I couldn’t decide which colour scheme I liked the most!

First of all I found some tubs that would be easy to paint, decorate and pierce the lid to make the money hole. I found these that seemed perfect: 1 cocoa powder tub and 1 hot chocolate tub.

Image

Secondly, I got out my paints and decided what base colour I wanted. I love this gorgeous pink colour, I felt it was very appropriately girly and summery!

ImageImage

Image

 

I then painted the tubs with a thick coat of paint and left them to dry. Whilst they were drying I pierced holes in the lids using a craft knife. I made a conscious effort to make sure that a pound coin could fit through!

Image

I then decorated them with ribbons, flowers and sequins! Here are some photos of the end result 🙂

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

I can’t wait to put these into use and save some money! They will also make a lovely addition to my uni room 🙂

What do you intend to do to get back on track after Easter?

Sass x

22 thoughts on “Getting back on track after Easter

  1. What lovely containers – and a great idea to put “good behavior”/workout money away in them!

    I would love to make some for our house, but I’m making a little coupon booklet for my husband, currently. Our 1-year anniversary is this Saturday. On top of that, I’m working on a painting for a local arts contest, and a quilt top for my best girlfriend’s baby on the way. Plus a design for a work project. My creative mind is always buzzing!!

    As for the health portion of this post: I find it difficult with my 1-hour each way commute to work to eat very healthy and plan for meals. I do drink a TON of water every day though! (And I definitely stay away from the scales.) I found myself in a fairly healthy state (weight, digestion, etc.) after I returned from Congo, I’m just trying to maintain.

    1. Thankyou! I really enjoyed making them 🙂

      A coupon book is such a nice idea, I’m sure your husband will love them. Yes you are doing lots of creative things! I wish I could be doing more!
      I find it really difficult to stick to healthy eating all the time when I don’t know what I am doing so hopefully now that I have made a plan, it will be easier to keep to it! Water is the best! And it keeps our skin beautiful and healthy too so its a win win 🙂

  2. Very wise decision to have a plan for meals and savings (rewards) at the same time. I’m sure you will stick with it! As for the money jars…. they are absolutely lovely. Very creative idea! Did i mention you are an inspiration…? 🙂

  3. Those containers are beautiful. ❤ I actually didn't intend to indulge that much this Easter, but then ended up receiving a grand total of four Easter eggs. O_o None of which I asked for. I should probably consider an exercise regime…

    1. Thankyou 🙂 Haha, it is hard to be healthy when there is so much chocolate! Definitely do, I always feel a lot happier when I have a regular exercise routine 🙂 x

      1. Completely impossible, I’d say. 😉 Yeah, maybe it’d be good for me. 🙂 Good luck with the plan!

  4. It sounds like you’ve got it alllll under control! Woohoo!. 😀 I love the idea of each day you stick to your plan, you put money in the till, saving up to get something fun and exciting once you’ve saved up. And your bank is so adorable!! Love!!

  5. What a creative way to self-motivate. You made a very solid plan, so I’m sure you’ll be a success. You’ve also clearly done your research to make realistic and attainable goals! I’m excited to read more about your journey, as I’m trying to get back into a healthy routine as well. That darn Easter bunny!
    P.S. I haven’t been here since you changed up your header. It is absolutely gorgeous!!!

    1. Thanks so much about the header! Still not 100% satisfied so it might change again! But I like it for now 🙂
      So far, i’ve managed to follow the plan and the money jars definitely help! Haha, tell me about it, I had wayyy too much chocolate!

Leave a comment